E-flections of an Educator

Seven Things You Don’t Know About Me

Posted on: January 6, 2009

(I originally posted this on my visitmyclass blog, but since I now have this as my “personal blog” thought it would be good to cross-post here.)

I was tagged by Jim Wenzloff (aka jimwenz) for the meme “Seven Things You Don’t Really Need to Know About Me” so here it goes:

  1. I am a Girl Scout. I think 2010 will be 30 years. We moved a lot when I was a child, and Girl Scouts was a constant for me. It also afforded me opportunities I know I would not otherwise have had, and was instrumental in my decision to become a teacher. I was First Class (the highest recognition you could earn in the 70s), a leader, a trainer, national council delegate and a board member. I had to resign my term on the Board of Directors as a result of thing number two.
  2. I am a PhD candidate at Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan. I passed my comprehensive exam in the spring of 2008. and am currently  working on my dissertation proposal. My committee approved my proposal, and now I’m waiting for IRB approval. Data collection is almost complete. My target for graduation is May of 2010.
  3. I started my career as a junior high school choir director.
  4. I have a Trans Am that my husband bought me for my 39th birthday. It’s performance-tuned with a really tight suspension and a big V-8. I love to take out the T-tops and crank the stereo! Sadly, it uses premium, so it doesn’t get driven much. 😦
  5. I have collected Longaberger baskets for almost 20 years and finally took the plunge as a consultant. I’m currently my own best customer. 😀
  6. I am very active as an officer in my union, East Detroit Federation of Teachers, Local #698 of American Federation of Teachers. I’ve attended many state and national conventions and was a trainer for a regional leadership institute.
  7. I spent the month of August, 1993 touring Europe with my mom. We went to Germany, France, Italy, England, Switzerland, Austria and Lichtenstein.

Since I just tagged some folks for a meme last night, and I know several folks I follow through blogging and Twitter have already done this meme, I tag: New blogger Scott Shelhart, fellow CMU grad Karen Chichester, and Arvind S Grover, because I think he is interesting.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

