E-flections of an Educator

What I Learned From…a Sidewalk

Posted on: March 2, 2009

Robert Hruzek over at Middle Zone Musings is hosting a groupwriting WILF (What I Learned From) project this month based on his Scenes from a Sidewalk series. Here’s my contribution.

My sidewalk story involves a dime, a tennis ball, and Pop (my grandpa).  tennisball1

Pop moved in with my family when I was 10 years old. He was so much fun, and such a nice man–everyone called him “Pop.” One summer day we were just hanging around outside with nothing to do. Pop put a dime on the line in the sidewalk, and we stood facing each other on either side of the dime. According to Pop’s instructions, we took turns bouncing the tennis ball–like in four-square–and trying to hit the dime. Not an easy feat  with a tennis ball! I don’t remember how/if we kept score or who won.  But it was a fun way to pass a little time.

So that’s my sidewalk story. Really just a silly little childhood memory, but it is the first image that came to mind when asked “What did you learn from a sidewalk?” And what did I learn? Simple objects, simple times, and special people make for wonderful memories.

What have you learned from a sidewalk? Check out the learning of others over at Middle Zone Musings WILF…Sidewalk groupwrite.

6 Responses to "What I Learned From…a Sidewalk"

Simply wonderful, Linda – great lesson! Thanks for sharing that wonderful memory, and a tip o’ the hat to ya!

Simplicity is simply wonderful. Unfortunately, making things simple is often very difficult. Recently, I have been trying to find a simple description of the purpose and goals of my organization to the point where I can explain without boring to tears the hapless stranger who asked the seemingly simple question, “And, what do you do?” 🙂

“Simple objects, simple times, and special people”…the best things in life!

What a lovely story! I think we sometimes get caught on the idea that entertainment has to be deliberate and elaborate. It is often the simplest fun that makes for the best time.

It’s the beauty in the simple, little things that affect us the most. Wonderful post!

[…] a moment to read it.) I read this post on the heels of my participation in Robert Hruzek’s “What I learned from…a Sidewalk” groupwrite, so maybe I was even more open to her message, and it really resonated with me. In the […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

