E-flections of an Educator

On Being a Producer of Content

Posted on: April 21, 2009

I believe I’ve mentioned before that I first learned about the concept/phenomenon of “web 2.0” at a day-long workshop presented by Jim Wenzloff. This was in the fall of 2007. At that meeting, and a couple of others which followed, we were introduced to a plethora of web-based tools, such as Audacity, Ta-da Lists, Pageflakes, Twitter, Google Reader, flickr, pb wiki, animoto, diigo, and others. I also started a blog at one of those sessions.

The blogging got off to a slow start, and around June of 2008, I felt like I was beginning to find my voice as a blogger. I did start using Ta da list almost right away, and it’s been very handy. Last spring we made lists for all of the year-end projects, such as summer programs preparations and Title I data collection, and this year, edit the titles and uncheck the tasks–Viola! New list! I also have my Google Reader full of interesting RSS feeds.

I continue to spend a lot of time on Twitter, where I get more links than I can possibly view and process, which led to me getting up to speed with diigo, where I can save, annotate, and share all the awesome finds from my Twitter network. As I was gathering and organizing all of this information, I thought about how wonderful it would be to have a place for parents to go to find websites for their children, so I created Family Fun Learning using Weebly.

I do keep up with adding websites in diigo and to Family Fun Learning pretty well, but the blogging has fallen off considerably. I was motivated to get back on the proverbial horse by Mike Fisher, who linked to this blog on DigiGogy. Do check out his blog–LOTS of great ideas and thinking there.

I’ve been doing lots of taking on the web. Here’s to giving back. Cheers!

"Sharing" by ll3naadll Qtr on flickr

"Sharing" by ll3naadll Qtr on flickr

1 Response to "On Being a Producer of Content"

[…] posts. My “Georgism” (NOT to be confused with “Bushism“) is reflected in On Being a Producer of Content. George often uses “cheers” as a closing in his comments. I like the feeling of […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

