E-flections of an Educator

Honor Your Body

Posted on: August 7, 2010

Note: I’m a contributing member of the Twitter Exercise Motivation Team blog; cross-posting here.

photo by Mike Baird

In my earlier posts on the #temt blog, (here and here) I wrote of my Curves workouts, which I love. It’s a great full-body circuit workout for strength and cardio. Earlier this year, my friend added yoga to her running regimen and she really loves it. I decided to check out the yoga studio near my house.

Santosha Yoga is a wonderful studio and I signed up for a package of classes. I’ve been going to basic classes, but tonight I felt more like yoga than Curves, and Yin was the offering on the schedule this evening.

A softer type of yoga, yin yoga helps stretch the connective tissues of the body. The practice is quiet and passive; it has a quality of stillness. The poses are held for a longer period of time which can be very meditative and calming allowing your awareness and breathe to be directed to a particular part of the body. In the Yin practice we concentrate on keeping your joints mobile and helping regulate the flow of energy in the body. This type of practice is beneficial to all levels. (from the Santosha Yoga website)

Yin has the same instructor I’ve had for basic, so I felt safe trying it. The class had a wide variety of women, some of whom have obviously practiced yoga for a long time, as they could practically fold themselves in half! I, on the other hand, not so much! But Jean’s constant message: “No judgement. Honor your body, however far it can go today.”

So that, friends, is my message to you today. Honor your body. You haven’t (insert exercise here) in a while? You did too much yesterday? That’s OK. Honor your body and do what you can. You will improve!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

