E-flections of an Educator

Decisions, Decisions

Posted on: September 19, 2010

My dissertation is a case study consisting of nine participants. (For more details about my study you can go here.) I am presently working on chapter 4, data analysis. I am in somewhat of a quandary as to how to present my findings. For each participant, I have 10 separate weekly reflections, pre-, mid-, and posttest each for SoCQ and TSES, as well as pre- and post-questionnaires.

I have completed the scoring of the SoCQ as well as the TSES. Weekly reflections will be coded and analyzed using NVivo. I’m considering a couple of options in presenting these findings.

Option One: present the results by datatype. For example, present the analysis of the SoCQ. for each participant then the results of the TSES for each participant, the qualitative analysis of the reflections of each participant, etc.

Option Two: present all of the results for each participant. As I am writing this, I think I’m leaning toward this option.  This way, I can make the connections (triangulate) between the different types of data for each participant.

Might there be other options? I’m interested in knowing what others think. Please share your thinking in the comments below. Thank you!

P.S. I dictated this post using Dragon Naturally Speaking software. I’m still rather new with it, so it’s  still a little quirky. However, the more I use it, the easier it gets. (The Nuance website shows the latest version 11. I’m using version 10.)

2 Responses to "Decisions, Decisions"

Why not present results by theme? You can connect data from your other instruments to the important themes you get out of Nvivo. That’d be more readable that instrument by instrument or subject by subject.

Warren

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

