E-flections of an Educator

Fresh Start

Posted on: January 3, 2011

One of the things I love about being on a school-year calendar is you get 2 “new” years to celebrate. There is just something about the promise of a new year: setting (or re-setting) goals, organizing, new stuff, new routines…

Since I (finally!) defended my dissertation just before break, for the first time in the last few years, I really focused on resting and recharging. The only goal I set was to finish all the dissertation edits prior to returning to work. I decided I was not going to set any other goals, because I did not want to get to Sunday afternoon before going back to work and be all stressed out about what didn’t get accomplished. What a great feeling! One thing I did was to pull out my pretty red briefcase. I haven’t used it for a couple of years, so it feels new. 🙂

I had a very productive day at work today, and I’m really looking forward to the challenges that await. What do you like about the new year?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

