E-flections of an Educator

Change…is good?

Posted on: May 30, 2011

Clockwise from top: Abbey, Oreo, and HayleyI have 3 Pomeranians. Two of them, Hayley and Abbey at 10 and 8 years old are almost considered “senior” and both could lose a little weight. Oreo, on the other hand, is only 4 and could afford to gain some weight. Abbey and Hayley are “hoovers” when it comes to food–you put it down and they inhale it like a vacuum! By contrast, Oreo is more of a grazer; if she were an only dog I could let her free-feed. Hayley and Abbey need a “lite” kibble, and rather than have Oreo on something different, I just give her a little more. Complicating all of this, is Hayley has a chronic form of HGE. We’ve nearly had to let her go several times, but we finally found a combination of medication and diet that keeps it under control. The food is by Three Dog Bakery, and I swear it has saved her life.

When I got Oreo, I was told she was a picky eater. We’ve found that  is not the case. She was a breeder’s dog (although she was never bred because she couldn’t gain weight) and I think she just may not have had enough opportunity.  I thought maybe she wasn’t eating the Three Dog Bakery kibble because of the size; she would eat it when I broke it in half. (Did I mention my dogs are spoiled?) So I bought her a “small bite” kibble. This meant I had to make some separate feeding arrangements, but we worked it out.

After a while, Oreo started refusing the small kibble, and eating the Three Dog kibble from the other dogs’ dishes. (Which, of course, they did not like!) When the small bite kibble ran out, I didn’t buy more. But, again, after some time, she started refusing the Three Dog kibble. So off to Pet Supplies Plus for more small bite kibble, and the process repeats. (Did I mention my dogs are spoiled?) Yesterday, at doggie dinner time, there was not enough of either kibble to feed all the dogs (I thought I had another bag). With a storm approaching, I didn’t think I had enough time to safely make it to Three Dog Bakery at Partridge Creek, so I made a quick trip to Pet Supplies Plus and bought some Eukanuba because it was on sale, and it was only a stop-gap measure. Oreo’s dish ended up with three different kinds of kibble in it and what did she do…picked out and ate all the Eukanuba (new) kibble!

So, what’s the point?

I think about all the changes in education (and in life). Some are thrust upon us, and we have to accept them. Sometimes there is a very good reason behind the change. The decision I made to switch to Three Dog Bakery food was based on several factors, but the most important one was the health of my dogs. For Hayley and Abbey, it works. They accept it. Oreo’s health concerns, however are different from the other two; so “one size fits all” in this case doesn’t fit!  She tried a another kibble for awhile, and then went back to the original, and switched back again. When she was offered something else, she tried it and liked it. And at some point she’ll go back to the others if offered to her.

Sometimes teachers try new things in their classrooms whether by choice or by necessity. And, like Oreo, sometimes they go back to previous practice, only to change back again. And, if you expose them something new, they just might try it and like it better.

1 Response to "Change…is good?"

What a great lesson! You have three beautiful dogs and obviously learn a lot from all of then. They’re lucky to have such a wonderful “mommy.”

Aviva

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

