E-flections of an Educator

What’s Your Lens?

Posted on: August 8, 2011

Note: This is cross-posted from my other blog, Literacy, Learning and Sharing.

I spent today at Macomb Intermediate School District attending Day 1 of training in Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol (SIOP). ** I walked out feeling really great, not only because what I learned will inform my practice, but because I helped a friend with her dissertation.

When I approached my car, it appeared to be leaning. What I had hoped was just a low tire, turned out to be a very flat tire. Ugh! Not how I planned to spend my afternoon. I hadn’t planned on getting new tires until Friday. 😦

Quick. Call the insurance company.

Whew! I have roadside coverage! And, the agent transferred me directly to the dispatch to get someone to help me. Janice got my information, and a few minutes later called me back with the name of the company, informing me that she also took care of the payment, and she would call back in about 45 minutes to check on me.

Because of my location, I was pretty sure it was going to take a little longer than the 30-45 minutes for the service to arrive–the traffic in that area is pretty busy all day, and absolutely INSANE at evening rush. When my phone rang, I thought it was Janice, but it was Randy from AutoRescue letting me know he was very close. He was very concerned about keeping me waiting. I assured him that I totally understood the situation, and was very happy when he arrived a few minutes later. Randy was very pleasant, courteous, and quickly got the mini-spare onto my car.

Time to head to Belle Tire. I called them while I was waiting for AutoRescue; they had my tires in stock and ready for installation when I arrived. Less than an hour later, baby had a new pair of shoes. (OK, 2 new pairs of shoes, but that doesn’t have the same ring to it!)

I could have become very upset about the flat tire. And it wasn’t until I was driving home that I realized I hadn’t been upset at all. Hmmm…

Creative Commons photo by trekkyandy

  1. I was very happy about my learning and helping my friend.
  2. I needed new tires anyway.
  3. I didn’t have anything absolutely pressing for the rest of my day.
  4. Janice from the insurance company was super-helpful.
  5. Randy from AutoRescue got the job done.
  6. I had insurance coverage for the roadside service.
  7. I called Janice to let her know how much I appreciated her help and Randy’s service. That made her day, which also made me happy.
  8. The tire store had my tires in stock.
  9. Monday is the late night for the tire store.
  10. I got a good price on the tires.

Two choices: half empty/half full. My dog taught me to look on the bright side; you can read that lesson here https://linda704.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/lessons-from-a-dog/

How do you get through a trying situation?

(**On my own time. Unpaid. In the summer. Take that, teacher-haters!)

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks

