E-flections of an Educator

My Twitter Mosaic

Posted on: February 22, 2009

I got this idea from Joanna Young over at Confident Writing. I think it’s quite impressive to see the variety of folks who are connected to each other.

Get your twitter mosaic here.

Of all the folks I follow, only 3 I’ve met IRL (@jimwenz, @frm, @cyclism). I’ve made a bunch of new friends from Western New York (@AngelaStockman, @mrsbrowndog, @datadiva, @TheresaGray, @eduguy101, @fisher1000, @elizabethfisher, @lgood44–If I missed any WNYers, please comment/tweet so I can correct!) and emailed several, had phone calls with 2, and hope to find a way to meet them IRL sometime.

Outside of the US I have at least one friend from “across the pond” (@JoannaYoung) and at least one “down under” (@bibliokat) and at least one in Canada (@TracyRosen).

Other US friends are as far away as Hawaii (@RosaSay), Alaska (@tumblemoose) and Montana (@cristama), and even some in my home state of Michigan (@kchichester, @tee62)

The majority of the “tweeple” in my network I will likely never meet f2f, yet all have touched me, and I treasure the connections we make.

So, how ’bout a Twitter Mosaic meme? Here are the rules:
1. Go to http://sxoop.com/twitter/ to create your mosaic (you can choose friends or followers).
2. Copy the code and paste it into a blog entry.
3. Reflect and comment on your mosaic.
4. Tag some “tweeples.”
5. Link back to this post or the post where you were first tagged.

Ready…Set…Tag…You’re it: @cristama, @fisher1000, @mikesansone, @angelastockman, & @KD9SR

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to "My Twitter Mosaic"

What a great collection of friends!

I have hundreds of online friends on twitter, and have only met a few f2f as well. Some of the people in my PLN are closer to my than my ‘real life’ friends. Is this a bad thing? I don’t think so. We are blessed to have the tools to make friends from across the globe.

Thanks for the post. I’m off to make a mosaic of my friends…

Linda – This is a cool idea. It was fun to see your mosaic of your friends and me included. Thanks! I’m in Northern California. Social networks like Twitter and facebook connect me in interesting ways. Because many people put up their pictures I know recognize them at conferences.

Before: I started a listserv in 1998 where there weren’t any profiles and pictures. I sat next to several people on the listserv on a bus at a conference. When I heard someone mention their name, I introduced myself and we couldn’t stop talking.

Now: We meet online, at conferences, in online courses, social networks. I wouldn’t have known you without Twitter.

Hi Linda, what a great idea to pick up this and make it a meme. Actually I got the idea from @rosasay when she first posted a mosaic but I forgot to say so.

I’m glad you got it to work okay – all I did was paste the code so doubt I’d have been much help.

I agree with Scott that many of the people I’ve got to know through blogging and Twitter are closer than people I know ‘off line’. Some are those I share ideas and interests with, others where we’ve built up a deep sense of connection and friendship. It’s astonishing. I love it!

[…] e~friend Linda tagged me for this meme (first time I saw the term I had to look it up:). What a great idea it is […]

Leave a comment

Archives

Categories

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License

My Delicious Bookmarks